Article View: adobe.creative.suite.versioncue.windows
Article #145Re: VC CS4 Adobe Drive Doesn't Save Versions ???
From: Matthew Laun
Date: Wed, 25 Mar 2009 20:49
Date: Wed, 25 Mar 2009 20:49
3 lines
1462 bytes
1462 bytes
Just to be clear.... Adobe Drive doesn't overwrite the previous versions. What actually happens is that the application writes a new file to the disk temporarily, then the application deletes the previous version, then renames the new file to the name of the original. This is what happens behind-the-scenes when saving from MANY applications. With applications that are Adobe Drive aware, this behind-the-scenes disc activity is re-interpreted as a versioning of the file. With non Adobe Drive aware applications, Adobe Drive cannot distinguish what the application is doing from what a user might be doing, saving a new file, deleting an old file, renaming the new file to the old file's name. Luckily, the "deleted" data is actually moved to the Version Cue project trash so that it can be retrieved using Bridge CS4. Matt
Technical Details
Message-ID:
<59b78d79.2@webcrossing.la2eafNXanI>Path:
arc1-ca.pugleaf.net!g2news1.google.com!news1.google.com!news2.google.com!newshub.sdsu.edu!webcrossingReferences:
<59b78d79.-1@webcrossing.la2eafNXanI>Show Full Headers
Complete Article Headers
X-Google-Thread: 1eff54,615a87a66189ad7f X-Google-Attributes: gid1eff54,domainid0,public,usenet X-Google-Language: ENGLISH,ASCII-7-bit From: "Matthew Laun" <mlaun@adobe.com> Path: arc1-ca.pugleaf.net!g2news1.google.com!news1.google.com!news2.google.com!newshub.sdsu.edu!webcrossing Newsgroups: adobe.creative.suite.versioncue.windows Subject: Re: VC CS4 Adobe Drive Doesn't Save Versions ??? Message-ID: <59b78d79.2@webcrossing.la2eafNXanI> Date: Wed, 25 Mar 2009 13:49:44 -0700 References: <59b78d79.-1@webcrossing.la2eafNXanI> Lines: 14 MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: text/plain; charset="ISO-8859-1" Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit