Thread View: adobe.framemaker
10 messages
10 total messages
Started by Stephen_J._Peters
Thu, 02 Apr 2009 14:34
Images sometimes have a black border
Author: Stephen_J._Peters
Date: Thu, 02 Apr 2009 14:34
Date: Thu, 02 Apr 2009 14:34
7 lines
1173 bytes
1173 bytes
I am using FrameMaker 8 on a Windows XP platform and am writing an application User Guide. I have used a lot of screen grab images (.PNG files) to illustrate the contents. I used the File > Import > File dialogue to import the images and then Esc m p to shrink-wrap the frames. Having just built a PDF version of the document and I noticed that SOME of the pictures show up with a black border whilst most others have no border. I can't find what property is different, either for the images or the anchored frames. So, how can I suppress these black borders?
Re: Images sometimes have a black border
Author: Ron
Date: Thu, 02 Apr 2009 15:48
Date: Thu, 02 Apr 2009 15:48
23 lines
2146 bytes
2146 bytes
<Stephen_J._Peters@adobeforums.com> wrote: > I am using FrameMaker 8 on a Windows XP platform and am writing an > application User Guide. I have used a lot of screen grab images (.PNG > files) to illustrate the contents. > > I used the File > Import > File dialogue to import the images and then Esc > m p to shrink-wrap the frames. > > Having just built a PDF version of the document and I noticed that SOME of > the pictures show up with a black border whilst most others have no > border. I can't find what property is different, either for the images or > the anchored frames. > > So, how can I suppress these black borders? Try this: bring up the graphics pallette; select the anchored frame border; click Pen>None. Does the border go away? If not, enlarge the anchored frame border beyond the edges of the graphic, then use the arrow cursor to move the graphic around. If the border is part of the graphic, this will show that. If it is, you'll need to cover it up with an empty white-bordered rectangle or use a graphics editor to remove it. Ron
Re: Images sometimes have a black border
Author: Sheila_Carlisle
Date: Thu, 02 Apr 2009 19:17
Date: Thu, 02 Apr 2009 19:17
7 lines
1149 bytes
1149 bytes
Stephen, can you tell us exactly which version of FM, from Help > About, the "pxxx" numbers -- and if you don't have the latest (p277) -- try upgrading either from within FM or here: <http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/product.jsp?product=22&platform=Windows> FM updates are not "roll-up" so if there is more than one available you have to do each one in sequence. Finally, tell us how you create the PDF, are you using Save As or are you printing to a postscript file and distilling, and in any case what printer do you have set as your system printer.
Re: Images sometimes have a black border
Author: Stephen_J._Peters
Date: Fri, 03 Apr 2009 07:58
Date: Fri, 03 Apr 2009 07:58
12 lines
1284 bytes
1284 bytes
Thanks for your help. I do have Framemaker Version 8.0p277, which is the latest version. I select the whole book and use File>Save As PDF... Settings: High Quality Print Registration Marks: None Are any other settings relevant? The System Printer is an HP LaserJet 1320 I had similar mixed results when the system printer was an HP LaserJet 3390 Series. When I open the files in FrameMaker and zoom to 400% I can see the black outline around the outside of the image (outside the object dotted line frame) and within the anchored frame. I enlarged the anchored frame to verify that the border is on the image object. It is thicker on the right and bottom sides than on the left and top.
Re: Images sometimes have a black border
Author: Art Campbell
Date: Fri, 03 Apr 2009 12:10
Date: Fri, 03 Apr 2009 12:10
9 lines
1041 bytes
1041 bytes
Check... Make sure that borders didn't accidentally get set in Frame. I believe a 1 pt border is the default setting. AND, a couple of basic settings: * Set your system default printer to Adobe PDF * Try using Print to print to the Adobe default printer. Make sure that, on the Print dialog box, that you don't have the PrintToFile checkbox checked. Art
Re: Images sometimes have a black border
Author: Stephen_J._Peters
Date: Fri, 03 Apr 2009 12:34
Date: Fri, 03 Apr 2009 12:34
6 lines
1135 bytes
1135 bytes
Thank you Art. I have looked at images that have the border and those that don't and they all have a border set 1.0. I did see a tip somewhere that the border pen pattern should be set to 'None'. I found that option tucked away on the Tools pallete, but forcing it to "None" didn't change anything for me. I have tried your option of printing to Adobe PDF, and the result is still the same. Incidentally, is there any functional difference in the output from the two PDF methods (printing the book to Adobe PDF or using the Save As PDF option)?
Re: Images sometimes have a black border
Author: Art Campbell
Date: Fri, 03 Apr 2009 12:43
Date: Fri, 03 Apr 2009 12:43
5 lines
841 bytes
841 bytes
Check the border properties of both the graphic and of the anchored frame. Each of them can have a border. And yes, in general, SaveAs doesn't work well. It uses a different work flow than Print does; Print is much more robust and less buggy. Art
Re: Images sometimes have a black border
Author: Stephen_J._Peters
Date: Fri, 03 Apr 2009 13:15
Date: Fri, 03 Apr 2009 13:15
7 lines
895 bytes
895 bytes
It is definitely the border of the imported image file. I have put a screen grab here: <http://img17.imageshack.us/my.php?image=objectborder.png> It shows the object properties panel for the image, and you can see the black outline round the object border. Thanks for the Print tip. That's good to know.
Re: Images sometimes have a black border
Author: Art Campbell
Date: Fri, 03 Apr 2009 13:33
Date: Fri, 03 Apr 2009 13:33
1 lines
747 bytes
747 bytes
So when you select the screen grab and use the graphic tools palette to apply None, or white, nothing happens?
Re: Images sometimes have a black border
Author: Stephen_J._Peters
Date: Fri, 03 Apr 2009 13:39
Date: Fri, 03 Apr 2009 13:39
3 lines
846 bytes
846 bytes
Aha! Nothing happens if I select "None" as the Pen pattern, but if I select the plain gray square in the middle, suddenly the black border disappears. Great. That looks like a fix to me. I don't know if it is the right one, but it gets the job done. Thank you.
Thread Navigation
This is a paginated view of messages in the thread with full content displayed inline.
Messages are displayed in chronological order, with the original post highlighted in green.
Use pagination controls to navigate through all messages in large threads.
Back to All Threads