🚀 go-pugleaf

RetroBBS NetNews Server

Inspired by RockSolid Light RIP Retro Guy

Article View: adobe.illustrator.windows
Article #155

Re: Trouble with Crop and Trim Marks in Illustrator CS3

#155
From: antonovic3
Date: Mon, 21 Jan 2013 10:45
40 lines
3375 bytes
On Tuesday, April 8, 2008 3:31:44 AM UTC+3, Sarah_M...@adobeforums.com wrote:
> Hi,
> I'm creating a print document (in Illustrator CS3, using Windows Vista) and sending to a professional printer who requires trim marks. I've created my document so that there is 0.125" trim area on all sides to bleed. Here is what I'm doing to create trim marks:
> Artboard is set at desired print size (5.5"x8.5") + 1/8" trim= 5.75"x8.75"
> Object>Crop Area>Make This give me crop marks at the edge of my artboard
> then I do
> Object>Crop Area>Release This allows me to change my crop marks to my desired, 0.125" size
> Then i do
> Filter>Create>Crop Marks This shows me my crop marks exactly where I want them in a red retangle
> then I save the file as a PDF and select the following settings:
> Press Quality
> Marks and Bleeds: I select the "Trim Marks" box to print the trim marks
> If I tell it to show bleeds, it only shows up on the top and bottom, not left and right, even though there is "0.125" in all fields.
> (Although these have only showed up for me once, I cannot get it to show up again)
> When I select "Save" and then view the file, the trim marks are there, but not were I specified them to be. They show up at the edge of the artboard.
> 
> When I change the Artboard to letter size (8.5x11), THEN the crop marks show up where they're supposed to be. Why is this happening???
> Any thoughts?? Thank you!

Hey, i see that your post is quite old, so you have probably found a solution by now. But I'll answer it anyway, since someone else might encounter a similar problem and find this post. Just one question, is your copy of illustrator original? Because if it is not, it might be badly cracked, so it might not be your fault but you won't be able to fix it either.. This sort of thing happens all the time on versions that you find on the internet, usually the problems are smaller such as a missing filter or blocking of certain features, but if you find a better version your problems will most likely be resolved.
Technical Details
Message-ID: <e07dc01e-c174-4c3b-88fd-a6f062cc1fa8@googlegroups.com>
Path: arc1-ca.pugleaf.net!k2ni1457qap.0!nntp.google.com!p13no3891554qai.0!postnews.google.com!glegroupsg2000goo.googlegroups.com!not-for-mail
References: <59b4ed1d.-1@webcrossing.la2eafNXanI>

Show Full Headers
Complete Article Headers
X-Google-Thread: 4f08c0c0f6,fd196b906d398dc3
X-Google-Attributes: gid4f08c0c0f6,public,usenet
X-Google-NewGroupId: yes
X-Google-Language: ENGLISH,ASCII-7-bit
X-Received: by 10.224.72.199 with SMTP id n7mr10380128qaj.5.1358765143188;
        Mon, 21 Jan 2013 02:45:43 -0800 (PST)
X-Received: by 10.49.58.140 with SMTP id r12mr3646416qeq.35.1358765142704;
 Mon, 21 Jan 2013 02:45:42 -0800 (PST)
Path: arc1-ca.pugleaf.net!k2ni1457qap.0!nntp.google.com!p13no3891554qai.0!postnews.google.com!glegroupsg2000goo.googlegroups.com!not-for-mail
Newsgroups: adobe.illustrator.windows
Date: Mon, 21 Jan 2013 02:45:42 -0800 (PST)
In-Reply-To: <59b4ed1d.-1@webcrossing.la2eafNXanI>
Complaints-To: groups-abuse@google.com
Injection-Info: glegroupsg2000goo.googlegroups.com; posting-host=178.128.98.250;
 posting-account=K7uTLgoAAAAaHJmqzZ6ciWqvOpJQ35zo
NNTP-Posting-Host: 178.128.98.250
References: <59b4ed1d.-1@webcrossing.la2eafNXanI>
User-Agent: G2/1.0
MIME-Version: 1.0
Message-ID: <e07dc01e-c174-4c3b-88fd-a6f062cc1fa8@googlegroups.com>
Subject: Re: Trouble with Crop and Trim Marks in Illustrator CS3
From: antonovic3@gmail.com
Injection-Date: Mon, 21 Jan 2013 10:45:43 +0000
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable