🚀 go-pugleaf

RetroBBS NetNews Server

Inspired by RockSolid Light RIP Retro Guy

Article View: borland.public.cppbuilder.deployment
Article #96

Re: How to put everything in one exe file ?

#96
From: AndrewB
Date: Sat, 02 Feb 2008 13:05
43 lines
2671 bytes
For creating a self extracting setup file I use SSE Setup: www.ssesetup.com
It supports exe and zip (and of course uncompressed).

But I wonder if this is really what you want (it should be because this is 
the deployment newsgroup):

Maybe you want to build your program without rtl's?
1) Project -> Options-> Packages -> Build with runtime packages: off
2) Project -> Options-> Linker -> Use dynamic RTL: off

Or you want to embed your bmp in your exe file as a resource instead of 
distribution it along with your exe file? Two VERY basic approaches:
Simply add it in the IDE to your form:
1) add a TImage to your form
2) select the bitmap you want to use in the Picture property :)
Or using resources:
1) Tools -> Image Editor -> File -> New -> Resource File (create a new one, 
don't edit the basic res with your project's name, it will/can cause serious 
problems)
2) Resource -> New -> Bitmap. Now create/paste/edit your bitmap etc.
3) Resource -> Rename: Give your bitmap in the resource file a meaningful 
name e.g. "test" :)
4) Save the new Resource file
5) Add new resource to your project: Project -> Add to Project -> Files of 
Type: resource, and select your new resource file from the list.
6) This bitmap will now be embedded in your exe on Build
7) Whenever you want to use your bitmap in your code,  load it from the exe 
with: LoadCursor(HInstance, "test"). See Builder's Help for more info on 
this.

HTH

AndrewB

"Febre Yuwono" <febre.yuwono@telkom.net> wrote in message 
news:477cb624@newsgroups.borland.com...
> How to put everything in one exe file (bmp bpl lib dll etc) ?
>
>
> Regards
> Febre Yuwono
>
> 
Technical Details
Message-ID: <47a46a7c$1@newsgroups.borland.com>
Path: arc1-ca.pugleaf.net!g2news1.google.com!news3.google.com!proxad.net!feeder1-2.proxad.net!213.200.89.82.MISMATCH!tiscali!newsfeed1.ip.tiscali.net!newsfeed00.sul.t-online.de!newsfeed01.sul.t-online.de!t-online.de!newsgroups.borland.com!not-for-mail
References: <477cb624@newsgroups.borland.com>

Show Full Headers
Complete Article Headers
X-Google-Thread: f8e54,d76bfad365f16f02
X-Google-Attributes: gidf8e54,public,usenet
X-Google-Language: ENGLISH,ASCII-7-bit
Reply-To: "AndrewB" <andre@blxm.com>
From: "AndrewB" <andre@blxm.com>
Newsgroups: borland.public.cppbuilder.deployment
References: <477cb624@newsgroups.borland.com>
Subject: Re: How to put everything in one exe file ?
Date: Sat, 2 Feb 2008 14:05:10 +0100
Lines: 45
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Newsreader: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2900.3138
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2900.3198
X-RFC2646: Format=Flowed; Response
NNTP-Posting-Host: 82.170.172.227
Message-ID: <47a46a7c$1@newsgroups.borland.com>
X-Trace: newsgroups.borland.com 1201957500 82.170.172.227 (2 Feb 2008 05:05:00 -0700)
Path: arc1-ca.pugleaf.net!g2news1.google.com!news3.google.com!proxad.net!feeder1-2.proxad.net!213.200.89.82.MISMATCH!tiscali!newsfeed1.ip.tiscali.net!newsfeed00.sul.t-online.de!newsfeed01.sul.t-online.de!t-online.de!newsgroups.borland.com!not-for-mail