🚀 go-pugleaf

RetroBBS NetNews Server

Inspired by RockSolid Light RIP Retro Guy

1 total messages Started by Colin R. Leech Sat, 12 Jun 1999 00:00
RESOUR> Warning! PrettyPark & Worm: Two New Viruses for Microsoft Wo
#142
Author: Colin R. Leech
Date: Sat, 12 Jun 1999 00:00
169 lines
7543 bytes
Forwarded from comp.internet.net-happenings:

> From: K-12 Educators Interested in Educational Administration
> [mailto:K12ADMIN@LISTSERV.SYR.EDU] On Behalf Of Bonnie Bracey
> Sent: Friday, June 11, 1999 2:20 AM
> To: K12ADMIN@LISTSERV.SYR.EDU
> Subject: Warning! PrettyPark & Worm: Two New Viruses for Microsoft Word
> and Outlook users
> 
> Warning! PrettyPark & Worm:
> Two New Viruses for
> Microsoft Word and Outlook users
> 
> Two new Microsoft Word 97 and Microsoft 2000 viruses, named PrettyPark and
> Worm, were discovered over this past weekend and are said to be spreading
> widely on the Internet.
> 
> These viruses come as files attached to e-mail and are currently
> circulating
> the Internet with the file names "PrettyPark.EXE" and "zipped_files.exe."
> 
> The e-mail containing one of these viruses may look similar to the sample
> e-mail provided below, or it may have no subject line at all. You can
> become
> infected with these viruses by downloading and opening an infected
> Microsoft
> Word document attached to an e-mail. You can also become infected by
> downloading an infected file inadvertently sent to you by an infected
> friend
> or colleague. Once the downloaded file is opened, an error message may be
> displayed and the virus will spread to Microsoft Word files created or
> edited
> on the infected computer. These viruses will also delete files on your
> computer.
> 
> Note! This infected e-mail may come from, or look like it came from someone
> you know! Be alert for short e-mails that ask you to download an attached
> file.  And always be cautious in downloading files from people or sources
> you
> do not know.
> 
> Once your computer is infected, it will spread the viruses in one of two
> ways. If you also use Microsoft Outlook, the viruses will be automatically
> e-mailed as an attached file to the people in your Outlook address book.
> Those people will receive an e-mail like the one provided below. Second,
> you
> will inadvertently infect others if you send them infected Microsoft Word
> files attached to an e-mail message. Once infected, the viruses will make
> changes to your Microsoft Word settings that make it easier for it to
> spread
> itself.
> 
> If you think you may have downloaded these viruses, please go to one of the
> sites listed below for instructions on how to remove them.
> 
> There are no known effects to the AOL software at this time.
> 
> ** Begin sample e-mail message **
>   Subj: <no subject>
>   Date: 6/10/99 4:44:05 PM Eastern Daylight Time
> 
>   File:  zipped_files.exe (210,432 bytes)
> 
> Hi!
> 
> I received your email and I shall send you a reply ASAP.
> 
> Till then, take a look at the attached zipped docs.
> 
> bye
> 
> ** End sample e-mail message **
> 
> How to protect yourself from the these viruses:
> * Install the latest versions anti-virus software on your computer as soon
> as
> possible.  These viruses are very new and you should update your anti-virus
> software as soon as possible.
> * If you already have anti-virus software, make sure it is up to date. Most
> anti-virus companies have posted updates on their Web sites that will
> combat
> the PrettyPark and Worm viruses. Some of those sites are listed below.
> * If you use Microsoft Word, there are
> <A HREF="aol://4344:2452.macro.26156796.607189184">steps you can take</A>
> to
> protect yourself by turning on macro virus detection in your Microsoft Word
> application.
> 
> For more information on the PrettyPark and Worm viruses, how to protect
> your
> computer and how to remove it from your computer, visit these sites:
> 
> <A
> HREF="http://www.sarc.com/avcenter/venc/data/prettypark.worm.html">Symantec
> AntiVirus Research Center: PrettyPark.Worm
> </A>
> <A
> HREF="http://www.sarc.com/avcenter/venc/data/worm.explore.zip.html">Symante
> c
> AntiVirus Research Center: Worm.ExploreZip
> </A>
> <A HREF="aol://4344:1207.ticker6.9447271.611422365">CNET News.com
> Update</A>
> 
> There are two easy steps that you can take to protect your Microsoft Word
> software from the Melissa Virus and others like it. We recommend that you
> print the directions provided below and use them as a step-by-step guide to
> protecting your Microsoft Word software from macro viruses.
> 
> Step 1: Add a Password to the Normal.dot File
> 
> The Normal.dot file is the basic template that Microsoft Word opens when
> you
> select New from the File menu or click on the New icon. When this file is
> infected with a macro virus, every document that you create with the normal
> template becomes infected. To keep this template virus-free, protect it
> with
> a password so that only you can make changes to it.
> 
> To Password Protect the Normal.dot File:
> 
> 1. Start the Microsoft Word software.
> 2. From the Tools menu, select Macro, then Visual Basic Editor.
> 3. In the window labeled Project, click on Normal.
> 4. From the Tools menu, select Normal Properties, then click on the
> Protection tab.
> 5. Check the Lock Project for Viewing check box and type in a password
> twice.
> 6. Click OK.
> 7. From the File menu, select Close and Return to Microsoft Word.
> 8. Exit the Microsoft Word software. The next time you start Microsoft
> Word,
> the normal.dot template will be protected.
> 
> Step 2: Set the Appropriate Macro Options in Microsoft Word
> 
> A macro is a line of commands that are created to automate some task. For
> example, you can create a macro that searches and replaces words and
> phrases
> throughout a document as you create it. Most Microsoft Word documents don't
> contain macros. Microsoft Word has preferences that you can set to alert
> you
> when a document that you are opening contains a macro or when the
> Normal.dot
> file is being changed.
> 
> To Set Macro Options:
> 
> 1. Start the Microsoft Word software.
> 2. From the Tools menu, select Options, then the General tab.
> 3. Click in the Macro Virus Protection check box.
> 4. Click in the Confirm conversions at open check box.
> 5. Click on the Save tab.
> 6. Click in the Prompt to save Normal template check box.
> 7. Click OK.
> 
> Now, whenever you open a document containing a macro, Microsoft Word will
> alert you that the document contains a macro. Never open a file that
> contains
> a macro unless you know what the macro is doing.
> 


--
####    |\^/|     Colin R. Leech     ag414 or crleech@freenet.carleton.ca
#### _|\|   |/|_  Civil engineer by training, transport planner by choice.
#### >         <  Opinions are my own. You may consider them shareware.
####  >_./|\._<   "If you can't return a favour, pass it on." - A.L. Brown
Thread Navigation

This is a paginated view of messages in the thread with full content displayed inline.

Messages are displayed in chronological order, with the original post highlighted in green.

Use pagination controls to navigate through all messages in large threads.

Back to All Threads