Thread View: adobe.creative.suite.versioncue.windows
3 messages
3 total messages
Started by Jon_Bitpusher_Paul
Mon, 19 Jan 2009 17:08
VC CS4 Adobe Drive Doesn't Save Versions ???
Author: Jon_Bitpusher_Paul
Date: Mon, 19 Jan 2009 17:08
Date: Mon, 19 Jan 2009 17:08
11 lines
1358 bytes
1358 bytes
Hello, Working in Fireworks (it's not VCue aware), upon saving a file that previously exists on the Version Cue CS4 server, Bridge CS4 instantly shows that the file is deleted, and then a few seconds later, shows the Fireworks file to be a "new file" -- essentially erasing the previous version and only allowing one version.... kinda sucks. This behavior exists also in MS PowerPoint, so I suspect it the same in any application that isn't VC aware. Does anyone know of a work-around for this (or if Adobe plans to fix this)? I could copy the file to a temp location, work on it and then check it back in, but I could do this without version cue. Has anyone successfully used a good source-control system similar to the VC workflow for graphic design (e.g., svn)? thanks!
Re: VC CS4 Adobe Drive Doesn't Save Versions ???
Author: Markus_Jasker
Date: Wed, 21 Jan 2009 09:28
Date: Wed, 21 Jan 2009 09:28
9 lines
933 bytes
933 bytes
Hi Jon, all not version cue integrated files like FW files (only PS, IS, IC, FL and AI are supported), have to be checked out(!!!!), edited, saved and check back in again to be versioned. You can do so via Bridge. Than you will not lose your versions. See the "Welcome.pdf" or the Help Hope that helps Markus
Re: VC CS4 Adobe Drive Doesn't Save Versions ???
Author: Jon_Bitpusher_Paul
Date: Wed, 21 Jan 2009 14:05
Date: Wed, 21 Jan 2009 14:05
11 lines
1563 bytes
1563 bytes
Hi Markus, I later found the following article from Adobe about the workarounds to this issue: <http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=kb404970&sliceId=2> Like you say, it describes the fact that if you're working in any unsupported application (e.g., FW, DW, and all other non Adobe products), you must first manually check-out the file before editing it. This was not required in Version Cue 3, so it's a major step backwards. What's the value of having some applications check-in/out automatically while forgetting to do this with others actually DELETES DATA? Given that Adobe created a low-level layer to handle check-in/out (Adobe Drive), they could have programmed it to automatically save a new version when trying to save to the Adobe network drive (it could use the time stamps or do a diff or checksum to detect changes), instead of OVERWRITING ALL PREVIOUS VERSIONS. Thanks for reading my rants. :)
Thread Navigation
This is a paginated view of messages in the thread with full content displayed inline.
Messages are displayed in chronological order, with the original post highlighted in green.
Use pagination controls to navigate through all messages in large threads.
Back to All Threads