🚀 go-pugleaf

RetroBBS NetNews Server

Inspired by RockSolid Light RIP Retro Guy

Thread View: adobe.framemaker
7 messages
7 total messages Started by Hanan_Looka Wed, 03 Dec 2008 22:57
Symbols used in VISIO diagram are not shown when imported to FrameMaker 8.0
#1522
Author: Hanan_Looka
Date: Wed, 03 Dec 2008 22:57
2 lines
827 bytes
I have FrameMaker 8.0 and when importing a visio diagram that includes a symbol, the symbol is not shown in the FrameMaker document correctly. It either is shown as a small box or as a question mark.
Is there a way to work around this issue?
Re: Symbols used in VISIO diagram are not shown when imported to FrameMaker 8.0
#1523
Author: Sheila_Carlisle
Date: Thu, 04 Dec 2008 01:25
5 lines
1018 bytes
Hanan, can you tell us exactly how you're doing the importing -- are you using File > Import > File, or File > Import > Object.

Also, are the fonts that were used in the Visio diagram available on your FrameMaker system? What fonts are being used?

Last but not least, please tell us specifically what FM version (the "pxxx" numbers from Help > About) and what version of Visio you're using.
Re: Symbols used in VISIO diagram are not shown when imported to FrameMaker 8.0
#1525
Author: Art Campbell
Date: Thu, 04 Dec 2008 14:03
3 lines
849 bytes
And, in addition to Shelia's questions, are the fonts used to produce the Visio files also on the FM system? Are they fully installed, so that Frame and other applications can see them, or just in Visio's folder?

Art
Re: Symbols used in VISIO diagram are not shown when imported to FrameMaker 8.0
#1528
Author: Hanan_Looka
Date: Thu, 04 Dec 2008 14:37
6 lines
1008 bytes
The FM version is 8.0p236.

I actually used "Edit -> paste special -> Embedded Microsoft Visio drawing Object" to embed the drawing in framemaker.The symbols used in the Visio diagram "≥ " (greater than or equal to symbol) and � (Beta).
I used the Insert -> Symbol option in Visio when creating the drawing.

These symbols are availabe in FM when you insert equations.
Re: Symbols used in VISIO diagram are not shown when imported to FrameMaker 8.0
#1530
Author: Arnis_Gubins
Date: Thu, 04 Dec 2008 15:26
7 lines
1016 bytes
By doing the Paste Special, you're creating an OLE object, which is
known to be problematic in FM, especially if you upgrade to SP3 for XP
(it totally breaks!).

The best way to maintain the maximum fidelity of your Visio diagrams
is to create a PDF from Visio and then import that PDF by reference
into FM.
Re: Symbols used in VISIO diagram are not shown when imported to FrameMaker 8.0
#1531
Author: Kenneth_Benson
Date: Thu, 04 Dec 2008 16:36
18 lines
1378 bytes
> These symbols are availabe in FM when you insert equations.

Just because the symbols are available in FM in one font doesn't mean 
they're available in FM in the font Visio used. This is why Art and 
Sheila are asking you about fonts, specifically, whether the font used 
in Visio is also available to Framemaker.

Beyond that, OLE is not a stable way to get graphics into Frame (or any 
other app, really).

BTW, a German sharp s (ß) is not the same as a beta (β) (which probably 
won't make it through NNTP and the forum). They look close, but they're 
quite different.

-- 
Kenneth Benson
Pegasus Type, Inc.
www.pegtype.com
Re: Symbols used in VISIO diagram are not shown when imported to FrameMaker 8.0
#1535
Author: Hanan_Looka
Date: Fri, 05 Dec 2008 19:35
3 lines
898 bytes
Thank you all. The problem was the font selection. Even though both VISIO and FM had a font named "Symbol" these apparently are different. So the solution that worked for me is that in visio select the font named "Pview Symbol" and not "Symbol".

Hanan.
Thread Navigation

This is a paginated view of messages in the thread with full content displayed inline.

Messages are displayed in chronological order, with the original post highlighted in green.

Use pagination controls to navigate through all messages in large threads.

Back to All Threads